Need some very basic advice

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Wes, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Wes

Jun 18, 2005
    Hey guys, I've been playing bass for about 6 months now with a pick, and I have a pretty good left hand technique (I use all four fingers, have my thumb on the back of the neck, etc.) and I've now decided to start playing with my fingers.

So today for the first time ever I've tried playing with my fingers, now here comes the very basic advice I need. I have a two J style pickup bass and when I use the one closest to the bridge I get on fine, but when I use the one closer to the neck I find it more uncomfortable and harder to hit the lowest string because the pickup is actually thinner. So I should just use the one closest to the bridge? Or should I be getting used to the one closer to the neck even though it's uncomfortable now?

Also, should I learn with two fingers or three? What would be your advice?

Thanks in advance, especially seeing as you probably all think these are basic questions.
  2. Zachass

Zachass Peavey Partizan

Ideally you'll want to be able to play on both pickups because of the greater tonal varieties that offers. Just keep playing, it was tough for me to play on the back pickup when I first started learning, but as you right hand develops it'll become easier to play on either one.
  3. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Apr 4, 2005
    Kansas City area
    Setup and repair/KRUTZ Strings
    It's good that you are eager to learn fingerstyle technique because it will make you a more versatile player. I know it may seem uncomfortable now, but it's worth it.