1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need someone to help me with a few original bass lines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DerrickShaney, Jul 2, 2012.

1. DerrickShaney

DerrickShaney

Jun 18, 2011
    St.Cloud MN
    Hello, I have been playing with a band for a few months now and we are gigging quite regularly. I wrote some bass lines for our original songs but usually just end up sticking to the root for the most part so that we can continue practicing as a band without being held up too much and then elaborate on the line later. I am relatively inexperienced when it comes to writing bass lines and looking for someone who would be willing to help me out with a few songs I am not particularly happy with.

I can send you demos of the songs and the line I am playing. It would be nice to bounce some ideas of an experienced bassist. Please let me know if you are interested in helping me. Thanks!
    :help:

2. scatbass

scatbass

Feb 4, 2009
    Atlanta, GA
    Write the bass line without your bass in hand. Listen to the tracks - in the car, out running, whatever - and just listen. What do you hear?? Go back and play what you hear.

3. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Aug 17, 2007
    Reno/Tahoe
    +1 to this. The nice thing about originals is that there is nothing written in stone.

Work on developing a couple different lines for the songs, then take them to the band and offer them up at rehearsal.
    Work 'em out with the input of everyone else.

Above all else - -serve the song & serve it well..

4. DerrickShaney

DerrickShaney

Jun 18, 2011
    St.Cloud MN