Need string advice ASAP

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by kik4adog, Feb 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kik4adog

Jan 3, 2002
    I'm sorry if this question has been asked before.
    But I feel I am in somewhat of an unfamiliar situation.
    I'm new to playing the upright double bass.
    And I'm playing in a Rock band.
    I am playing all pizzicato right now.
    I have interest in doing stuff with the bow but I will probably continue to play mostly pizzicato.

I am looking for a string that is going to allow me to play pizzicato with ease but that will also give me a nice warm tone to back up my band with.

I have purchased D'
    D'Addario's Helicore Pizzicato series strings but have not yet put them on.

I am looking for advice on how these strings are before I open them so that I can still return them if they aren't the best strings for me.

I was considering the Hybrid Series but I thought in my situation the Pizzicato series would be better.

I definitely need a string capable of producing a nice warm tone that I can back my band with.

Any advice would be well appreciated.
    Thank you
  2. olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    Check out the Obligato strings by Pirastro: good thump, nice sustain, easy and sweet arco sound. Most orchestra strings won't give enough sustain pizzicato and most pizz string will be very scratchy for arco. Don't waist your time with Helicore Hybrid (no bow value), nor with Innovation 140H or 140B (very short thump). Other options are Thomastik Spirocore ("medium" are a bit scratchy under the bow but not as much as the "weich" ones) Thomastic Superflexible and, if you like something brighter, Corelli 370TX (forte).
  3. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Hi Bryan.
    You told me in an email to you've chosen the Hybrids.
    You seem to be happy, that's what counts.