1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need the smallest practice bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by spector_ino, Dec 14, 2011.

1. spector_ino

spector_ino

Dec 8, 2011
    Boston area
    I'm a complete novice with a Q4. What is the best and smallest adequate bass amp for practice only?

2. Ampeg BA-108. Love it! I wrote a review on it, try doing a search for it...for 99.99$ you can't get better sound.

3. topo morto

topo morto

Mar 22, 2010
    Lloegyr
    If it's just you, no other musicians, then a headphone amp... vox bass amplug, korg px4b, etc.

4. spector_ino

spector_ino

Dec 8, 2011
    Boston area
    Thanks, topo. I already bought the Vox and used the plug-in for my Ipod. I just thought that a practice amp may also be helpful. I've got a lot to learn. Thanks for the suggestion, Woodsbass. I'll check it out. The local guitar shop recommended the Fender Rumble 15 for $100.

5. Yup, the korg px4b (Pandora) or the Zoom B2 or B3 or the Digitech BP355.
    Why? Becuz they all got a drum tracks to practice to, and MP3 input, multieffects and a headphone jack.

But, if you do end up getting a combo, I wouldn't anything with a speaker smaller than 8" .

6. Mister_argentum

Mister_argentum

Aug 30, 2011
    Geneva
    If you want to keep it simple the Markbass 801 is very nice. I would not go for less than 8' neither.

7. Mulebagger

Mulebagger

Dec 12, 2007
    poppin in the corn belt
    Endorsing Artist: Zon Guitars, Tsunami Cables, DR Strings, GK
    Headphones. Like Darius8 said. You'll get a full sound in your head for whatever you need to practice.

8. topo morto

topo morto

Mar 22, 2010
    Lloegyr
    It's out already? dayayam, didn't expect it yet! Thanks for the heads up.

9. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    Massachusetts
    Pignose Hog 30