Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need to drive, might not be able to

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Peter McFerrin, Feb 18, 2003.

1. I got a pair of speeding tickets last year, both in New York. Both infractions occurred while I was a resident of New York State--demonstrable by the strict California standard of earning enough money to support myself ($12/hour in Rochester is definitely a liveable wage). However, my driver's license was still an Illinois one.

Anyhow, the tickets were finally processed a few weeks back (the "pay $5 extra" trick didn't work this time) and I was informed last week by the Secretary of State's office that my Illinois driver's license is to be suspended, owing to Illinois law that stipulates that any two moving violations in an 18-month period will result in the suspension of the offender's license if he/she is under 21.

However, in New York, the offenses would only result in 8 total points on my license, out of 12 needed for a review. So, after having spoken with the New York State Police, I decided to try to get a New York license. I can't quite yet--I need to have a copy of my birth certificate FedExed to me due to my idiocy in losing my Social Security card (I will get another in a week's time). What I'm wondering, though, is whether I should even bother to try in the first place.

I will speak with an attorney tomorrow morning about my options here, but I figured I might consult y'all. I was thinking that I could get a statement from an attorney, attached to my NYS driver's license application, that would state that I would have only 8 points on a NY license and that the infractions occurred in NY while I was a resident of NY. Your thoughts? (HeavyDuty, your 1337 1n5uR4nZ 5k331z might come in handy here.)

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000