Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need to find out the Ohm of this cab...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by django, Jul 14, 2005.

1. django

django

Dec 20, 2004
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I read the ohm-faq, but i'm not that good at math, so I kinda hope one of you guys could solve this one for me...

My friend gave me these two DJ-cabs, that a friend of him built. One of them doesn't work, though...

It has two 15" 300W 6ohm speakers, plus two 6" 160W 6ohmsand a tweeter. All speakers are connected to some splitting-filter, the red cables from the 15" soldered together, and the black ones soldered together, same with the 6". The tweeter seems separeted, except the black cord that is together with the red ones from the 15":s.
    I was thinking of using them with my poweramp (phonic max2500, 2x750W/4Ohm (1x1500W/8Ohm), but I´m afraid to blow it. Can I use it in bridge mode safely?

About the one that doesn't work, I've checked all connections, nothing is loose. What could be wrong? How can I troubleshoot it?

Thanks in advance!

2. jazzblade

jazzblade

Jun 21, 2005
    Northern Cal
    Hard to say from the description you gave. I'm sure it's wired series - parallel somehow.

The "splitter thing" is the crossover and it is also rated for a max wattage input usually. Sometimes the connections to the speakers are labled showing what "resistive loads" should be attached.

Easy way to find out is borrow/rent/get a ohm meter and measure the total resistance between the ground and hot lead at the input ...OR.. ask the friend that built it if he remembers what the total resistance is.

3. django

django

Dec 20, 2004
    Stockholm, Sweden
    thanks for the fast reply!

i will borrow an ohm meter I guess... any idea about the broken cab??