1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need to further my skills...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Paradox11235, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Paradox11235

Paradox11235

Mar 1, 2015
    Denver, CO
    I know this probably gets posted a lot, but this forum has been phenomenal so far for searching for gear/other questions.

Basically I'm gigging very frequently with two different bands in the Denver area, I'm self taught on guitar and bass but I know enough theory to be dangerous. I've never really gotten anything but praise on my writing and playing, and sometimes i'm satisfied, but I'm getting to a point where I feel I need to improve. I always know when I see a bassist better than me playing, and it happens quite a lot.

What do you guys do when you feel like you've plateaued? What I usually do is study some theory I'm foggy on or didn't know about previously, but I don't feel like it helps my creativity much. Beyond knowing your scales, chords, harmonies, circle of fourths and fifths, stuff like that I feel like I'm just treading water.

I think I need to study some other great bassists and learn to emulate their styles to help me develop my own more...

Not looking for a link to a beginners course, just some strategies for furthering myself as an intermediate player. Thanks!

2. You are gigging with two bands so you can hold your own. Sounds like you are entering into technique. This is best done knee to knee with a bassists that plays like you would like to play.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
  3. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Just to clarify this conversation, what things do you specifically want to improve in your playing?

Whousedtoplay likes this.
  4. Whousedtoplay

Whousedtoplay

May 18, 2013
    TEXAS
    Could you elaborate your statement, better than me playing ?