1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need to replace my machines :/

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Mr. Moustache, Oct 5, 2008.

1. I'm a rookie double bass player, switched from electric onto it about 6 months ago with my friend's bass. It's made of spruce and has a pretty good resonance, so I figured I'd buy it and upgrade all the hardware on my own when I needed to.

I basically got everything fixed or replaced except for my machines, and now the D-string piece is completely bent and out of place. Any recommendations for a good solid 4 string tuning machine set? I can't afford any more than $200 for a whole set, so I'm hoping there's something reliable that's not pushing my price range. Help?

2. I'm currently looking at Tyrolean style machines.... I'm just wondering if anybody can warn or advise about these machines or others? I don't want to have to deal with the tuning crisis I have now again anytime soon.

3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    Richmond, CA
    Rule of thumb for machines is that the less weight the better. The more weight, the cheaper. Tyroleans are heavy. Don't forget the install cost can be a little bit of $$$ if the screw holes are different. Talk to a luthier as you will need them to install it for you, especially if the new pegs don't fit. $200 might not be enough even with chinese made tyroleans considering any install costs. I'd consider trying to get what you got fixed if you're on the cheap.

You might be able to DIY but it's a risky venture if you don't have any woodworking skills as it's quite easy to **** up drilling holes.

4. Jake deVilliers

Jake deVilliers Commercial User

May 24, 2006
    Crescent Beach, BC
    Owner of The Bass Spa, String Repairman at Long & McQuade Vancouver