1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need to understand gear and tone and the like; anybody got a guide they can point me to?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Dethlateer, Jan 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Dethlateer

Dethlateer

Jan 10, 2017
    I would put a TL;DR at the end but I'm not sure how to summarize this accurately. Sorry.

I have just about as much grasp on gear and what it all means and how it contributes to tone as a beginner who's googled the vaguest of questions for a week and I've been playing for nearly 3 years. For example, for my birthday I went out and bought myself a new rig (been playing on my bandmate's ancient beat up ampeg head and cab that sounded horrible), an Ampeg SVT-7 Pro (I'm into metal and play in a metal band, so I've found my favorite bassists and bands throwing the Ampeg name around a bunch as well as the other bassists in my scene) and an Ampeg SVT 4x10 500 watt cab. That day I heard some words. Preamp. Tube. Tweeter.