Negotiating ii-V7's when each gets 2 beats in a bar...

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by JazznFunk, May 28, 2002.

1. JazznFunk

JazznFunk Supporting Member

Mar 26, 2000
    Asheville, NC
    Lakland Basses Artist
    I'm currently studying Rufus Reid's book, among other materials, so I'm already comfortable and familiar with the usual method of negotiating ii-V7's when they're 2 to a bar (i.e [Amin7 - D7alt] [Gmin7 - C7alt]), where you play the root on one, a chromatic approach on 2, the next root on 3, and then another approach tone into the one of the next bar. I usually try to vary this by perhaps starting on another chord tone if applicable (3, 5, 7, etc.), and if the musicians I'm playing with are comfortable with it. My question is what other methods do you all think about over these types of progressions? Anything you guys have to suggest would be appreciated!
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    You can 'prune' the chords and play one or the other. Playing on the two chord an ignoring the five will give you a brighter sound and less tension (softer resolution), where playing on only the five will give you, well, it'll give you a V-I...
  3. Here's a few ideas:

Sub bII7 for the V7 if the V7 is resolving to I.

You could simply play root-5 or 5-root, or both.

Play a chord tone other than the one. Remember though, part of your job is to outline the harmony, but just because you play a chord tone doesn't necessarily mean anyone is going to hear the harmony and it won't necessarily swing. I could give you examples of things that work and don't work in this regard in person with my bass, but I don't really feel like typing examples, that's too pedantic at the moment.

Something that can work in conjunction with playing a different chord tone on one is the delayed resolution- playing the leading tone or other chord tone on 1 or 3 and the root or 5th on 2 or 4. Use your ears.