1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NEO B212 w/ GK 700RB-II . . . future stacking

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mike biz, Mar 3, 2008.

1. I'm considering the following setup, but I'm a reall rookie so I could use as much help as one can give.

I'd like to run a GK 700RB-II through an Avatar NEO B212 or B210, but I've read that there is an issue with stacking non-GK cabs with this head. Something about bi-amping. Is this correct? I'm not sure what, if any, cabs I would add in the future, but I want to have some flexibility. Maybe a NEO 410 or 210 at some point down the road.

And if I do decide to stack at some point I assume that getting an 8 ohm B212 is the way to go right now.

Please enlighten me. Thanks.

2. i'm not sure about the biamping problems but from what i understand that head sends a 50w high frequency signal to the GK cabs which they call biamping. the head is stable to 4 ohms so you would be correct in grabbing the 8 ohm cab if you wanted to keep your options open for additional cabs in the future.

3. cheezewiz

cheezewiz Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    You can use the avatar cabs. You just can't use the biamp feature on the GK. Make sure and use a different speakon cable than the one that comes with the GK.

4. 0175westwood29

0175westwood29

Sep 16, 2007
  5. manjonning

manjonning

May 18, 2006
    Minneapolis
    Quite a bit less I believe ! I was looking into the same thing... But with the 1001RB II ... I have a 412 ampeg cab at the moment that's fricken killing me to transport!

If you grab these let me know what you think ..

6. The GK NEO 212 lists for $600. The Avatar NEO B212 is $319 in black carpet or if you want the tougher colored Tolex covering add $49. Still major savings. And you get to deal with the owner of the company. 100% American made if that's important to you as well.