1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Nervous about getting a new head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mbart203, Nov 29, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mbart203

mbart203

Dec 29, 2009
    CT.
    22154284_1713508068660458_5167095914065189924_n.
    So my old Carvin BX600 has recently died.
    Not a big deal because it was a bit sterile and I wanted to replace it anyway.

My current cabs are two Fender Rumble 210s.
    I've been putting money aside for a new head and in the mean time I'm studying specs, reviews, etc. in order to be ready.

First off, I'll say, I really do not want to get the Fender Rumble Head. I have a Rumble 100 and I'm not so sure it's the sound I want.

I want to be able to get a good round about sound that sounds good for playing in the Church band is kind of CCM (pop rock) style but also to get a more aggressive Geddy Lee style.

My original plan was to go for a light weight 500 Watt head, probably the Peavey Minimax.
    Then I figured with upcoming sidework, I can aim a little higher in the price category.

When these Class D amps started coming out, I was leery of how long they'll last.
    Now I'm seeing so many reviews and what not that's leading me to believe many of these amps are not dependable.

I really like the Minimega but I've seen alot of issues from others.

Other heads I'm leading toward are the GK 700RB II aND as much as I've been looking past Hartke heads, the LH1000 does seem to have some great reviews.

I'm looking to keep the budget at around $650 or less. I'm also hoping to get it from Sweetwater because I just prefer the great service I get from them.

Should I stay away from 1000 watt heads with these cabs? I understand the lh1000 should be fine if I don't bridge it.

I'd love some input from you guys
    Thanks.

Alacajun likes this.
  2. Stumbo