Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

never bought a fender bass... but SERIOUSLY thinking about it (need your help)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by smitcat, Aug 19, 2004.

1. smitcat

smitcat

Aug 5, 2003
    Ithaca, NY
    whelp, i wandered into my music store and someone has traded in a few fender jazz basses. One in particular caught my eye. It is a 1998 MIA standard bass in inca silver ( i think thats the color) it has a rosewood fingerboard, and sounds great. I have been playing for a few years, mainly as a hobby, and fumbling around. I have been in a couple bands, and we do well. I currently own a peavey cirrus 5 string, which i would not trade for anything. But my one complaint is that it is 35" scale, which is a bit long for me. I can handle it, but i would like to have something smaller, and in a 4 string that i can use as well.
    The bass is in great shape, feels and sounds great, and i think is calling my name. The price they put on it is $929. Does that sound like a good deal? I have never bought a fender bass before, and i know the MIA ones retain their value quite well. I also understand that the inca silver seems to be a newer color. So to all you fender cats out there, let me know what you think
    -Mike

2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

isnt that a bit expensive for a used bass?

3. well, you could probably talk the guy down a bit...929 is about what you'd expect to pay brand new i think...

Charlie

4. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Seems a little bit high, I bought my 2000 Hot Rod P for $400. Check out eBay, chances are, you'll find a better deal.

5. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member