Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Never really in tune?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by millard, Sep 10, 2005.

1. millard

millard

Jul 27, 2004
    SoCal
    I don't ususally watch my tuner while I play, but last night I was a little early and everyone else was a little late, so I setup and tuned and then ran through some of the harder riffs, watching the tuner in my floor unit instead of looking into the bar.

Lo and behold, most of what I was playing was sharp. In most cases, the center light and the one to its right (the sharp side) were on, in some parts the center light was not lit at all, in the most agressive parts, both lights to the right were on (meaning I was really sharp).

Having noticed this and having some time on my hands, I started playing around a bit. When playing over the bridge pickup, this is exacerbated slightly. When using a pick aggressively and playing over the bridge pickup, this is exacerbated more than slightly.

Now, I tend to tune with a relatively light touch over the neck pickup, so I can change my habits regarding that. But I play over both pickups and play with pick or fingers depending on the song. I'm now a little freaked out that no matter where I play or how I do it, I'll be a bit out of tune most of the time.

On a song where I'm hammering the E string with the pick over the bridge pickup, I'll be wildly out of tune. This is a song that the bass starts and we typically roll right into it as our second song, so there is no time to tune down. We're a rock band, so standing still and using a light touch isn't a workable answer -- it also doesn't sound the same unless you play it aggressively.

Anyone else notice this? Note that this isn't visible on a normal tuner as they don't tend to continuously regsiter -- you need to use a stage tuner (which I'm guessing has a higher sample rate).