1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Amp help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by michinho, Oct 20, 2013.

1. michinho

michinho

Oct 11, 2013
    London, UK
    Hi there,

I'm not too good with amps and would really like some help.

Looking too get a new one that is either a combo or head, and smallish cab. Loud enough for playing local smallish/medium sized gigs would be ideal.

I currently have a 300 Watt Ashdown MAG EVO (i forget the model) and while it does its job. My basses do tend to sound quite flat and a bit lifeless.

I'm looking for something that will make my bass sound more defined but keeping all its characteristics. For example, making my p bass still sound like a p bass, my jazz as a jazz and my T-bird my T-bird.

I want something that provides deep solid lows (without sounding muddy) but clean crisp highs too.

I think a solid state amp might be cleaner, i'm getting a real tube preamp pedal soon, so I would have the option to make it growl. I just need recommendations within these parameters.

So... if anyone can help that would be fantastic.

Cheers,

Mike

2. ArtechnikA

ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

Feb 24, 2013
    SEPA
    Two essential questions:
    Where are you?
    What's your budget?

3. michinho

michinho

Oct 11, 2013
    London, UK
    I'll give you that, two important points I missed!

I live in the UK, just outside London.

Price wise.. that is a little bit more difficult. If I can help I would like to stay nearer the £500 mark, but I am willing to fluctuate.

4. orangejulius3

orangejulius3 Supporting Member

May 6, 2013
    La Habra CA
    Is the amp that you are using, a combo?
    If yes, what size speakers and how many of them? Also, is there room to add an additional cab to your combo?
    If you don't have a combo, what cab do you have right now?