Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by philwill1, Jul 8, 2002.

1. philwill1

philwill1

May 11, 2002
    Clinton, KY
    Hi to all,
    I'm looking for a little help. I've been playing bass for seven months now(played keyboards in a band and at church for 7 years prior to switching) and I've fallen in love with it.
    I started out with a beginner bass Rogue lx200b and a crate bx 100 combo amp. I am ready to upgrade and my ear has developed to the point where I can tell the difference in sound.

I've been checking out some different basses and amps and have decided to get a fender MIM standard jazz. But I'm still not sure about the amp.
    I'm not ready for a stack and may never need one. I'm not sure. I play in church and in a small praise group at other local churches. We don't really play to large crowds or in large buildings (one time we played in a small auditoriium{about 200 People]) If we are lucky we may have 75 people at best usually. I play mostly black quartet music and some times black contemporary gospel although I have not learned to slap yet. I listen to groups like the Canton Spirituals, Lee Williams, Jackson Southeiares. In black gospel the bass takes a lot of the lead and is very hard driving so you need something that is powerful enough to be heard over drums and guitar and tight vocal harmonies.
    I want a combo and so far I've narrowed it down to the Fender bassman 400 and gk 1000rb. Any comments,suggestions, yays or nays would be welcomed. Or any suggestions as far as other combos would be greatly appreciated.
    And yes I have tried some great sounding cabs like the swr tower of power with a couple of ampeg 500 watt amps and swr 700 amps. fantastic but toooooo big and cumbersome for my car.
    thanks for your help.

2. BlacksHole

BlacksHole

Mar 22, 2000