1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New band costs me $1,400. We haven't played a gig yet.

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by BassAndReeds, Dec 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    I just got into a new band. Top 40 covers/wedding/corporate. I've been a bassist for about 4 years (musician for 24 years). I'm moving up in the bass world, but still growing. Items I had or have to purchase for this band:

InEar Monitors: $600
    Wireless Monitor receiver/pack: $500 (used, MSRP $800)
    Wireless bass receiver/pack: $300 (Shure GLxD16. used, MSRP $400)

Fun to get new stuff, but ouch, my bank account. Especially because the monitor stuff isn't as fun as new pedals or basses.

I hope this band is all they say they are. They're expensive.

2. @Basstards
    Look at it this way the IEMs and wireless set may lighten the bank balance but lighten the load-in too.

3. I thougt this was going to be one of those, I ponied up $1,400 for my share of a demo that went nowhere, posts.
    At least you have physical stuff that you own and will be useful elsewhere, or can be sold.

4. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    I would have thought a band like that would have had the Tx/Rx stuff racked up already and you would just have had to buy the IEMs. What if you showed up with some cheap Galaxy level stuff that messed with the rest of their system?

dralionux likes this.
  5. BassAndReeds

BassAndReeds

Oct 7, 2016
    I'm purchasing the Wireless Monitor Receiver/Pack from the last bass player. So there's a bit of faith there that my investment will turn to profit. I agree, if I didn't get the last bass player's equipment, I could have shown up with anything. Thankfully the last bass player is a good man and is giving me a price less than anything I see online.