1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New band leader and I need help

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by woody357, Sep 12, 2017.

1. woody357

woody357

Jun 17, 2005
    Hi I'm looking for a little advise on booking, b abuse I'm new to this. I have a band that is new in the town I am in. This is a very clickish place and I may be getting our first gig. I just received a email asking our price. This is the question. Should I just give them a asking price or give them the option to negotiate? I'd really like to hear what some of you that have this experience has to say. I'm not new to the music world but I am new to running a band. We have been rehearsing for a few months and I really need to get us a gig before I start to lose people. I just turned down four dates because they didn't like our singer and I felt she put in as much work as the rest of us so for me it was all or nothing. Any help would be great.

Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  2. Spectre1966

Spectre1966 Striving For Mediocrity Supporting Member

Jul 4, 2014
    Wallingford, CT
    If it were me, Id quote the standard price we request for a gig. In our case, we leave a little wiggle room, but very little.

punchdrunk and woody357 like this.
  3. sm49341

sm49341

May 12, 2013
    Michigan
    What type of event? Bar, wedding, private party, festival, fundraiser?

Jimmy4string likes this.
  4. $100 a person

pjbassist, design, FirewalZ and 5 others like this.
  5. woody357

woody357

Jun 17, 2005