1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Bass and a Sort of Return

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CreepyJack, May 3, 2015.

1. CreepyJack

CreepyJack

Mar 11, 2011
    SCV, SoCal
    It's been a long time since I posted here (not that I posted much to begin with; I'm trying to learn), and almost as long since I picked up my bass or any of my guitars. Life, y'know?

Anyway, I finally got something that I've wanted for a long time. I finally bought myself a Rickenbacker 4003 in Midnight Blue. It's an '02 model, so no vintage tone circuit, but I'll add that a little later on.

There's a catch, though. I bought what is basically a husk. I bought the neck/body from a parts dealer on eBay. I'm a machinist/welder by trade, have some experience with electronics, have dabbled with lutherie, and am not afraid to tinker with anything that can be tinkered with, so I'm really looking forward to this project.

ef35e7660b37673aeddb86dae0931141_zpsbj2xqpmt.

This thing is in WAY better shape than I thought it would be in.

Anyway, I found the correct Schaller tuning machines and stock tailpiece/bridge on eBay, bought them, installed them, loosened the truss rods, strung it up, and put it in tune. Success!! Very little buzz. I spent the last couple of days noodling around on it, and I like it very much. The action is still pretty high, so I lowered the bridge a little, and I got a bit of buzz from about the 18th or 19th fret of the E and G strings. I tightened the truss rods a little beyond snug, which helped some. It doesn't look like the bass was ever set up properly beyond a simple truss adjustment, so I'll be filing the nut soon.

9e51a6d063e35aab9a011899d60686ac_zpsy1nxj3mk.

First, though, I'll install the electronics and pickguard I'm waiting on, bought from eBay.