New Bass : Carvin Fretless 6string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Panda Licker, Apr 24, 2005.

1. I'm excited as hell, and have to tell the world. Since about 5 o'clock yesterday, I am the proud owner of a Carvin Fretless 6 string. Let me tell the tale:

A while back I was going to buy this exact bass. I had seen it in the same shop, and decided I should own it. I saved up all of the cash I needed for it over a month or so. The day I go to buy it, I find out that its been sold.

Not to be without a bass, I took that money and put it towards a Carvin B4Fretless instead. I've been playing this bass nonstop for about two months now, and I'm starting to truly believe that I was meant to be a fretless player.

So anywho, yesterday comes, and I'm going to see Ron White (Blue Collar comedy guy for those of you who dont know.) We get to the town very early before the show, and with a little bit of time to kill, we go to the music shop. And what do I see on the wall? My Carvin 6er!

Turns out that it hadn't been sold, but was put on layaway. Unfortunatly for the person who did this, they ran in to money troubles and had to have it put back on the wall. Well their troubles= my new bass.

I picked it up for $500 including a case. It looks a lot like the one in the link above, except mine is noticably older and with a darker finish. It's like brand new save for a small nick on the side of the fretboard, and the saddle screws are rusty. Other than that, its perfect. I've been playing it nonstop since I got home last night, and I love it. Only problem is that its strung with roundwounds, but I'll change that soon enough.

I'm sure nobody actually cares enough to read all of that, but I am really excited.

P.S. : Does anybody know a site where I can date my Carvin? I'm sort of curious to how old it is.
  2. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

Good for you!!!