Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New bass?? Hartke XL 4?????

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by deadman9, Apr 7, 2003.

1. deadman9

deadman9

Apr 7, 2003
    Hello, I've been playing keyboard for the past 10 years. However, lately I keep having ideas for bass. So rather than sitting at the keyboard for an hour recording a bassline with a sample that is in much need of some resampling, I'm looking to start playing bass. I'm looking for something below $500. I'd rather not go buy one of those bass/amp/teach yourself bass book combo deals because if I enjoy playing, I'll end up wanting a new bass probably costing around 500 and if I don't like it, I'll be stuck with a crappy bass with zero resale value. I've been looking at this http://www.samash.com/catalog/showitem.asp?SKU=HXL4 any thoughts, ideas, opinions??

thankyou all for your help

2. jondog

jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    My local store has the import 4 and 5 string versions, and I've tried them a few times. I like the idea of the aluminum neck, but I wasn't amazed at the sustain. Very good, just not amazing like they say in the marketing blurb. The main drawback for me is that the frets are medium or small, and I prefer jumbo. The US version you're looking at might be cooler, I dunno. If I ever see one for cheap I'll probably get it because the neck is pretty unique.

3. deadman9

deadman9

Apr 7, 2003
    Think I should go neck through (I don't know if the xl 4 is or not)??? I think the majority of stuff I hear has significant sustain and kind of a mellow tone. Is it possible to play fingerstyle bass (play bass note, while it sustains play other higher notes above D). What is a good book of strength and speed building exorcises (like Hanon for keyboard)?

thanks everybody

4. jondog

jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area