1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Bass Player and New Ampeg Portaflex Rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gretsch6136, Sep 28, 2013.

1. Hi everybody,

Just joined the forum after a couple of months lurking and learning.

I am a long term guitarist, having played in bands for over 20 years. However I recently landed an audition for a Rolling Stones tribute show on bass, and was lucky enough to be offered the job.

As a result I needed to move pretty quickly and find myself a bass guitar and amp. The band's repertoire is nearly all late '60s to late '70s numbers so I figured I needed to go with Ampeg for the tone and looks.

I went out shopping and of all the equipment I looked at, the Ampeg Portaflex series ticked the boxes for me. It had the right look, the right tone, and the right price. However the thing that worried me quite a bit was all the horror stories here about the Pf500 head failures.

So I figured the PF800 was a new product and that Ampeg would have learned a lesson from the 500 experience. Regarding cabs, I liked the fliptop idea but felt it would somehow compromise the integrity of the enclosure with regards to strength, sound, and reliability over time.

After reading lots of opinions here I ended up choosing the PF800 and matched it to one PF115LF and one PF410HLF cabinets.

Visually this rig really made a statement. I set it up at home and had a good play around with it. I found that the 115 sounded fantastic but the 410 just wasn't my cuppa tea.

I took each cab to separate band rehearsals and my initial impression was borne out. The 410 just didn't do it for me. So I called the shop I bought it from and they were happy to exchange it for a second PF115LF.