Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New bass player here, what should I get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ranger-X, Dec 11, 2004.

1. Ranger-X

Ranger-X

Dec 11, 2004
    Austin, TX, USA
    Hello everyone. This is my first time posting here, as I am pretty new to playing bass. I'm not sure if this is the right forum or not, but it seemed like a good place to start. Well, I've been playing guitar for 7 years now, but I want to start learning bass for versatility. So what I really want to know is, what bass should I get as a starter? I don't have much money to spend, so I was thinking of getting an SX or a Squier. I seem to like Fender-style basses better, but I'm open to all options. Mainly I'm just confused about the differences between bass pickups, so I don't know whether to get a P-Bass, J-Bass, or whatever. Are there any sound clips I can find of the diffent bass pickups? Any other advice you guys can give would be helpful as well. Thanks!

2. Ranger-X

Ranger-X

Dec 11, 2004
    Austin, TX, USA
    Oops. I just realized that this is pretty much covered in the FAQ. But still, where can I find sound clips? I've tried searching, but with no luck. Thanks again.

3. well to start off, what kind of music are you into

4. r379

r379

Jul 28, 2004
    Dallas, Texas
    Telling us what sort of music you play would be a good place to start. What might be suitable for jazz might not be what you'd want for, say, country music.

5. Ranger-X

Ranger-X

Dec 11, 2004
    Austin, TX, USA
    Myself, I mainly play rock, and blues. I'm really into classic rock, not much of the new stuff. I can't stand punk or nu metal. Country is not my forte either, but I like some of it alright. I like jazz as well, but I don't know how to play any of it, being a rock guitarist. Anything else I can add to help?