New Bass player looking for a new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by zerodown, Sep 21, 2005.

1. zerodown

Sep 13, 2005
    Hey Guys. I've been a passive participant at talkbass for the past couple of weeks. If I've learned one thing, it’s that there is an abundance of knowledge floating around on this site. So I hope you don’t mind if I pick your brains
    So here is my deal. I started playing bass about 3 months ago. However, I've been a musician for the past 12 years (drummer). I've always wanted to learn the instrument, but never had the opportunity. Recently, the switch was so that I could play in a band with two of my close friends who are excellent musicians. My roommate, now the drummer just didn't have time to learn another instrument, so I took on the task.
    I love playing drums but forgot how awesome it feels to learn a new instrument. I'm absolutely enamored with bass and how different it is from drumming. Enough rambling.
    The true point of this post is this. I've already out grown my bass. I purchased an Ibanez soundgear SR400 when I started playing and I'm over it. The tone from the bass is so limited, not to mention I need that low B string. Coming from a band where the bassist played only 5 strings, the bottom now feels empty to me.
    Anyway, I’m the kind of guy that likes to buy nice equipment that I can grow into. I play pop rock, so I need something with a bit of edge but will sit nice and fat on whole notes. Also, I have small hands so I've found that smaller necks suit me better. The two basses that I liked while playing at GC (yeah i know, i hate that place too, but they let me screw around with all of their stuff) were the SR5 and the Bongo 5. However they didn't have much of a selection, and i want to buy a used bass (gives it more soul in my mind and you get more for your money).
    So finally my question. I’m looking to spend around $1500. Do any of you have suggestions as to what type of basses I should be looking for?