Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bass player looking for bass tips

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Amatuer, Oct 28, 2000.

1. Amatuer

Amatuer

Oct 28, 2000
    Hey I am just learning how to play guitar altogether but I am starting with bass because it is the coolest. I am wondering if there is anything I should really know before I start. So far I am only self tought.

2. Welcome aboard, Am! :D

I tried the self taught route back when I first started to play bass in 1990. It was OK, but I recently got back into playing again this year after a long hiatus. I started lessons from a bass instructor (as opposed to a guitar instructor who tries to teach bass!) in February and I am a thousand times better and more skilled in many areas than I was fending for myself. Plus, taking lessons makes you practice, and that's what makes you good quicker. So, my best advice is get a good bass instructor, and play along to lots of different CDs, and try to get out there and play with other people ASAP, even really simple stuff. This is all just my opinion of course, but there ya go :)

Above all, HAVE FUN! Bass is a great instrument, and you as a bassist will be in demand, so make yourself as good as you can be....

Good luck! -Dan

3. and practice!!! practice=great! hehe build your technique young child.. lol if you have any questions.. this is the place to ask!

-Willz

4. Licketysplit

Licketysplit

Mar 15, 2000
    Practice, practice, practice, practice, and when you think you're done practicing, practice some more. Now onto the matter of what to practice.