Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bass player looking for good bass songs to start with {TAB}

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Tony Canevaro, Jan 5, 2004.

1. Tony Canevaro

Tony Canevaro

Jan 4, 2004
    Hi All!

I am a new player (less than a month). Due to my location and work situation I will be mostly self taught. I am working on thoery as well as tabs, tabs are just more convienent to get started with. I currently have the Hal Leonard and Bass guitar for Dummies books as well as John Pattitucci's videos. I have tabs for some songs I like but what I would really like is for some of you long time bass players to suggest a couple of good bass songs (most of my tabs are not "pure bass" songs and so listeners can't really tell what I'm playing) that are reasonable beginner songs.

Thanks for the help folks!

2. nfg4life

nfg4life

Jan 5, 2004
    hey, i have just started playin within the last six months and i am teachin myself also. the main songs that i started out with New found glory, hit or miss; blink 182, all the small things; but if you dont like music like that i dont know what to tell u thats just what my friends said to play to help out learnin. they have helped me with finger movements. if u learn anything else or other songs or anything about chords and scales and all that crap email me at joshlifehouse51@hotmail.com, that would help me alot
    peace

3. timmy

timmy

Jan 2, 2004
    Philadelphia
    dude, im in the same boat, i started with daytripper by the beatles, come as you are by nirvana,beatles-come together, bon jovi keep the faith, and pink floyds money they all have great bass lines and people instantly know what you are playing

4. RNG

RNG

Jan 9, 2004
    Conway,S.C.