1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New Bass Player

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by schaet, Jan 5, 2012.

1. schaet

schaet

Jan 4, 2012
    Good day!

I just started learning bass guitar and I just bought myself an Aria STB JB DX Bass Guitar last Christmas. My problem is, I don't know where to start. I'm starting from scratch so please bare with me. Advice as well as guides will be much appreciated.

Since I bought the Bass, I practice no less than 2 hours a day doing major,minor and other basic scales with a metronome. Am I on the right track?

Thanks in advance for the help and advice! Cheers!

2. Yep!
    Although, learning a song or two and/or finding people to play with would help!

3. Chord tones should probably be your next mission.

4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    +1. When you know your scales well, move swiftly on to chord tones, as this is what a bassist plays 90% of the time. As well as the theory side of things, try playing along to some music you like. Don't rely too heavily on tabs. Much better to train your ear and try to work things out for yourself.

Since you are putting in two hours a day practice, make sure your left and right hand technique are OK. Otherwise you may encounter hand/wrist problems at a later time. Do a search on you tube. For the R/H, do a search for "Floating Thumb Technique." The idea is to have both wrists as straight as possible. During your practice sessions, take a five minute break now and then. If you feel any pain or discomfort, don't play through it or ignore it, but try to find the cause and rectify it.

Below is a great all round site for bass. Here it deals with chord tones. On the fretboard diagrams, if you put the mouse arrow over a note, it sounds that note.

Chord Tones Are Primary

5. schaet

schaet