1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Bass Recommendation

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by QuadX, Mar 9, 2010.

1. QuadX

QuadX

Feb 6, 2010
    Austin, TX
    Hey TB's, I'm fairly new to bass and need help on where to start on getting a new bass.

Music Style:
    I play for churches and in my band, "Betrayed by Sorrow". For church, I play contemporary christian. Betrayed by Sorrow (BBS) is Hard Rock, mix of God Smack, Alter Bridge, and maybe some Creed.

Equipment:
    I currently own an Alembic Epic 5-string and play through a Genz Benz GBE1200 and two Bergantino HS410's. I am not convinced that the Alembic Epic is the right bass for what I'm playing. It's a very "sweet" sounding bass...very musical, but doesn't sound "edgy" enough.

What I'm Asking:
    I need help with a starting point on which basses to consider. Definitely looking for a 5-string. I really like Ben Kenney of Incubus playing style. He play's a Custom Lakland with Joe Barden humbuckers. I may be too general in my asking, so ask questions as needed...

2. groove pump

groove pump

Oct 24, 2006
    It can get into pretty subjective issues when you decide to find a different sound. Hard to say just what is "edgy", right?

I have a passive J-bass that's somewhat smooth, especially compared with my old MM Sabre - the soloed neck pickup on that beast is just obnoxious... in a good way. In this case, I knew the difference when I heard it.

Since you want a 5-string, I think you'd be smart to sit with a Stingray in that layout. To my knowledge, that's one of the most beloved 5-er's of all time and I'm pretty sure they offer different pickup arrangements. No argument against Lakland either. I've been a dedicated 4-stringer for some years, but I tried one of their Skyline 5's and MAN what a cozy player.