1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

new bass shielding

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by joeyl, Feb 24, 2008.

1. When building a new bass, and using shielding paint, should I finish the cavities first then apply shielding paint? or apply shielding paint to the bare wood? I have never shielded an unfinished bass before :rollno:

2. kevinmoore73

kevinmoore73 Supporting Member

Jun 18, 2007
    Cleveland, OH
    I've never built a bass before, so take this with a grain of salt: If it were me, would probably do a rough job of finishing the cavities and then apply the shielding paint to that. Also, if it were me I would use copper foil instead of shielding paint.

I've got five coats of shielding paint in my Lakland, with copper foil on top of that. (Yeah, belt and suspenders as someone else here mentioned.) The paint just didn't cut it for me.

3. scottyd

scottyd Commercial User

Nov 17, 2006
    Waco Tx
    Builder/owner Redeemer Basses
    +1 I prefer copper or aluminum tape over the paint.

4. Greenman

Greenman

Dec 17, 2005
    Ontario Canada
    Any cavity should at least be sealed some way IMHO. Shielding paint is water based and the moisture of the adhesive could wick to the wood.

5. Suburban

Suburban

Jan 15, 2001
    lower mid Sweden
    I disagree with greenman. The shielding paint will work as a finish, the added moisture will leave soon enough. It will not in any way disturb the wood.
    If you apply a finish before the shield, you will jeopardize the adhesion of the shield. In my book, thin as it is, that is just as much worse as it is likely = pretty much.
    And - do the shield before any finish at all.

I too prefer the copper tape...

6. so does the water content from carpenter's glue :eyebrow:

7. ok, so shielding then finish, got it. Thanks for the replies