Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bass?? suggestions welcome (needed)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Arcades, Jan 5, 2001.

1. Arcades

Arcades

Jan 5, 2001
    I've been playing bass for about 3 years. I have some extra cash to throw around, so I figured, why not get a better bass? I have about $1300 to spend, but I don't know what kind of bass is good (I don't stay current on bass stuff). I wanted to get a 5 string and I was reading some reviews today that said the Peavey Cirrus/5 was a nice bass. I play a lot of Metallica, so I like big, fat sound. As of now I'm going to get the Peavey. Feel free to try and persuade me or inform me otherwise :)

2. My choice is the G&L L-2500. They are handmade in Fullerton California in the shop where Leo Fender spent the last 12 years of his life. They are extremely versatile instruments and sound as big as a house.

3. Arcades

Arcades

Jan 5, 2001
    How expensive are they? The cirrus/5 i'm looking at cost $1350 with case. Anyone know if thats reasonable?

4. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    Hi!!
    Welcome to Talkbass!
    Well, after reading your profile, my first suggestion is to first invest in a better amp. That Peavey Basic 112 wont sound good with a 5 string. (Believe me, I have the Basic60 wich is the same with an older name)
    For 5 String Basses.. (after buying a $600 amp) I would reccomend the Spector NS2000/5 , Cort Curbow 5 String (With a Bartolini Upgrade),or even buy it Used... A Warwick Corvette as an example.. or an Ernie Ball Stingray.

5. Luis Fabara

Luis Fabara

Aug 13, 2000
    Ecuador (South America)
    Audio Pro - Ecuador
    $1350 for a Cirrus?
    uhmm
    No way!! Im not paying. I would prefeer to get a used Modulus for that kind of money.

6. Arcades

Arcades

Jan 5, 2001