Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bass wanted

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by LAW, Aug 13, 2005.

1. LAW

LAW

Jun 23, 2005
    Hello everyone,
    Some background info first:
    I've been playing for about 4 months. I currently own an Ibanez gsr200 and am starting to get annoyed with it. Too much buzz no matter what I do. A pain in the ass. So I am looking into purchasing a new bass.
    I don't slap or pop. The closest I get is Flea style finger slapping once in a while(ala The Mars Volta's first cd). No pick either. Just regular old school fingerstyle.
    What I want: I like the spector body style, also the warwick corvette body style. the Schecters also pique my interest. I'm trying to get a nice mellow tone, not too treble-y but not too muddy either.

Is there anyone who can suggest something in the $500-800 range that would suit me?
    Any suggestions are appreciated.

"Bury me with all my stuff...because you know that it is mine."
    -Master Shake

2. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Have you thought of getting the bass set up? I'd bring it to a store before buying a new bass cause of buzzing.

But you can grab a decent Fender for about that. I got a new Standard Fretless Jazz for 699 Canadian.

3. pickles

pickles Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    First thing you should look at is a fresh set of string and a professional setup. You'll be surprised what a difference it makes.