Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassmans_mom, Dec 29, 2003.

1. bassmans_mom

bassmans_mom

Dec 19, 2003
    hey this is bassmans mom's son, i got the bass she ordered me and it plays and sounds great!
    but, unfortunately it has a high spot in the neck on the 22nd fret on the a string. the bass is a brice v2 5string fretless, i raised the action , but i dont want to create too extreme of an angle at the bridge on the string, because i break string too frequently as it is, and i don't think adding or subtracting relief will fix this problem. i have some knowledge of setting up my instruments, but fretless is foreign to me and i was wondering if the problem could possibly be remedied with a neck adjustment . any input would be greatly appreciated. thanx

2. Does it happen to look like this:

[​IMG]

??

The neck on my Essex (sold by Rondo Music, same dealer as Brice). I have been talking to the owner of Rondo Music (Kurt) and he said it looks like it can't really be fixed, so if that is the case with yours, I'd E-mail Kurt and see what he thinks about it. If the need arises, you always have 30 days to send it back for a new one (I'm going to have to send mine in for repair). www.rondomusic.bigstep.com is the website.

Best Regards,
    The One And Only THole

3. bassmans_mom

bassmans_mom

Dec 19, 2003
    yes similar ski jump profile, but minus the frets, but i figured the angle of the neck in the pocket was to aid a lower action setup.
    thanx .

4. I would recommend tightening the trus rod, see if that straightens it out. I tightened mine and it fixed 50% of the problem, but then again it is fretted making it more of a problem. So see if you can fix it by tightening the trus rod a lil.

5. bassmans_mom

bassmans_mom

Dec 19, 2003
    i'll try that, thankyou alot for your help !