new bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Edenman, Aug 17, 2005.

1. Edenman

Aug 15, 2005
    Two questions - just wanted peoples opinions about getting a new bass. Im interested in a 5 string (new or used, probably preferrably used in really good condition to try and save some money) - was thinking about a Spector, but was curious about other thoughts? I estimate my price range is 500-1000 maybe? My musical tastes vary...from GB kind of music, to mainstream rock, to jazzy stuff...I kind of like the jazzy sound.

Second, Ive been playing through my original bass for 10+ years...anyone play through a guild pilot bass? I have seen very few people with them. Mine is still in great condition minus a few small dings here and there. I think it was a solid first bass. thoughts?
  2. ebladeboi123

Jul 11, 2005
    Oberlin, Oh
    From what i can tell you need to go to like Sam ash, Guitar center or some big chain, and just play some basses. No one on the board can really tell you what to buy, you have to form your own opinion there. To one person a bass can sound amazing- but to another it could sound like death. I will suggest some things to look at though.
    Spectors- NS2000, not so found of the newest ones, but there nice for the $
    Music man- Seems like you have the $$ for string ray 5, try one out, they are nice.
    Fender- I love fenders, and you could probably get a used re-issue (possibly) or a American Jazz
    Warmoth- If you have the time and money, this could be for you, as you get to choose exactly what you want in your bass, and how you want it to look.
    Used is your friend.
  3. sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL