Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rockoncamel, Feb 1, 2006.

1. rockoncamel

rockoncamel

Feb 1, 2006
    Torquay, UK
    hi people ive just joined the forum, it looks like a goodun,

ive been playing bass for about 6 months now, and im ok at it starting to pick it up, my bass is a see-thru wesley one, i got it off ebay and brought it on looks realy as it was cheap and got me started, but anyway it rattles like f*ck and ive decided its time to get a new one. My mate lent me his mexican 98 P-bass, which had a real good tone to it and felt good to play, he wanted £300 for it with a carlsbro amp, which i thinks a good deal but me being me i decided i wanted a brand new guitar, ive olny realy looked at the fender and was thinking if getting a deluxe series fender, which is like the P-bass but with a J-bass pickup as well and has active pickups as well. I think ill go for this one, but before i do can anyone suggest any other basses in the £500 price range for me, that i might want to try out?? Cheers guys

2. Tony G

Tony G

Jan 20, 2006
    NY
    There are so many good basses out there in that price range. The only real suggestion I can make is to go out to some music stores and play everything. Only then can you make a real decision one what bass you like the best.

3. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    The deluxe is a good bass. I'm looking into getting one as well.

Whatever you may choose, it doesn't exist without pics!

-Mark

4. rockoncamel

rockoncamel

Feb 1, 2006
    Torquay, UK
    haha true, i think the deluxe bass is the way to go for me overall

5. Mark Wilson

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    If you've played it, then get out there and buy it!