Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by philwill1, Jul 19, 2002.

1. philwill1

philwill1

May 11, 2002
    Clinton, KY
    Hey guys
    now that I've been playing for about 8 months i'm ready to move up from my rogue 200lx. I am trying to decide whether to stay with four strings or move up to five. I have been looking at a fender jazz, (don't know where it was made) bass-4 string, a peavey fury 4 quilt top (active), or a peavey foundation 2000 5 string. I play gospel in a small group (bass, guitar, drum) and I play at church. (2 guitars, bass, drums, congas, hammond b3, keyboard) Does anybody have any suggestions on which one to choose.

2. CaracasBass

CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    Hello,
    I think the advice I can give you (and the one you´ll be "hearing" from many TBer´s) is: Try them the most you can, and compare them in sound, playability, weigth, look etc etc etc...... at last, your hands, ears and back will tell. ;)

3. electric_cowboy

electric_cowboy

Jul 19, 2002
    I'm a fender jazz guy myself, but those peavey basses i find are REALLY nice for the money. i almost considered buying one. I'd get the peavey over a MIM Jazz myself...

4. regarding your 4 Vs 5 question, you have to way up the pro's and con's......why do you want a 5, why and how will you implemtent it into your playing?
    some people have absolutly no use for a low B.
    If you choose to go with a 5'er, you'v kinda gotta start again, get a fairly cheap 5 to make sure you realy wanna play a 5, then wen you' got the technique down etc get a better 5.
    However if you wanna stick with 4's my advice is to go out a play as many different makes as possible
    eg :
    Yamaha's
    Ibanez (BTB's)
    Bass Collection
    MIM fenders
    Peavey's

its late, i can't think of any others
    :oops:

*Si*