New bassist......and a girl

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kiwicone, Jun 10, 2002.

1. kiwicone

Jun 10, 2002
    Okay. I'm very new to bass. I'm actually expecting my first (a Kramer Focus for $100) tomarrow. Yes, I'm starting a band, but everyone's telling me two things:

1.) you can't be in a punk/rock band 'cause your a GIRL and,
    2.) if you could be in a band your supposed to sing and play lead guitar, not bass!

I hate this town. Anyone's thoughts? I'm not quitting because of either of those reasons!
  2. Ignore them!
    Look at Kittie...all girl band and one of the most phenomonal live bands I've seen in quite a while!
    What age are you? I get a lot of flak for being a 13 year old bassist with an Ibanez BTB and well over €2k of rig...but I ignore all the 'you should be the singer' stuff. Go where your heart takes you.
    PM/email me if you need any help!

3. Screw them. You are gonna be in a band, they arent. Oh, and if they say you cant play bass, learn ONE slap routine and any non-musician friends will think you are the King/Queen/Whatever of bass, trust me.

Some of the best punk rock bands out there have girls in them, what about Sleater-Kinney? Bikini Kill? Selby Tigers! I sure as hell am NOT going to tell the girls in Tribe 8 they can't play punk rock!!

And what's wrong with leading a band with bass? what about NOFX, Thin Lizzy and Dillinger Four (okay, not really led, but still). Just remember that no one got anywhere listening to what the couldn't do.

Also, avoid bashing people's head in with your bass, try using their own guitars.
  5. kiwicone

Jun 10, 2002
    I'm not the only one either. My whole band gets it. The drummer, Blu, actually brings her sticks to school to bash in anyone's head who says she can't play.....dear GOD she can! You can't really tell her role model is Stevo32 from Sum 41.