New bassist coming from the dark side...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wiermabj, Jun 4, 2002.

1. wiermabj

wiermabj President and founding member - Bass Newb Club

Jun 4, 2002
    Westminster, MD
    Hey everyone, love the forums here. Much better than the other one I was checking out....
    Anyway, I have been playing guitar for about 15 years and I'm thinking about switching to bass. I play rock and classic rock and I'm into Stu Hamm, Steve Harris and Dave LaRue. I have placed a $2000 budget on myself to cover my needs for now. I played a Mesa Walkabout into the SWR 4 X 10, using an Ibanez BTB and EDB. The BTB felt clumsy to me because it is bigger than what I'm used to. However, the EDB was comfortable and sounded OK to me but whats with the Spaceship technology? I played a Fender P but it felt very neck heavy as did most of the warwicks I played. I guess the bottom line is I need advice on what to look at and what to stay away from. I could see myself learning slap and pop but I'll mostly stick with the rock music. I won't be playing any gigs for now, but would like to be able to expand my rig when that time comes. BTW, I have a Mackie 1400 that was used in my old bands p.a. that I could use as for a power amp.
    Portability and weight is a big issue with me. I'm a little dude.. Give me some suggestions please !!
    Thanks in advance!

2. Jon Burnet

Jon Burnet

Jan 21, 2001
    Memphis, TN
    getcha an amprg or swr IOD pre and a descent 4x10. That should set you back about 800 leavin you 1200 for an ax. I suggest a used stingray 5 and something like an essex jass to upgrade. you might check into the MTD kingston and a skyline of some sort. Try out some 12's while you're trying cabs too. good luck and welcome to the right side of the force young grasshopper.
  3. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001