1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New bassist here and new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by prbrianpr, Jan 1, 2012.

1. prbrianpr

prbrianpr

Jan 1, 2012
    Hi friends, Im new to the world of music, I started listening to metal for a year an liked it so munch, now I started a metal band, I can sing but we cant find a bassist so I bought one, so I going to play the bass and sing at the same time. Well I bough one Stagg XB300 only because looks very good and I dont have the money for a BC rich. I have a month with it, and learning by ear and from internet bass sites. The bass is passive, I now know that most metal bands use active basses and that I can change my bass to active with active pickups and electronics kit. Now I dont have $150-$200 for a active kit, still I can use my bass for playing metal? I just plugged it to a normal amp, the bass sound like bass, not distorted like metal basses. What I can do?

Thanks

2. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009
    The vast majority of active basses are those that have passive pups and a active 2-3 band eq. Some with selectable treble center and some with selectable or sweepable mids to. Bass center freq will ussually vary from 80hz to 40 hz. I prefer the latter for bass center. Simplist thing would be add a nice yet inexpensive 2band active eq preamp. I like the Basslines Blackout a lot. To include liking it more then many of the more expensive offerings. They cost only about $49 btw. Their stacked bass/treble pot version would simply replace your passive tone control. You also get your output jack replaced by a stereo one so that the other side of it acts as switch for tunring preamp on and off. Is a pretty easy mod to install it. After that you just need room for the std 9volt battery.