New Bassist here: Muting question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by carbonseven, Apr 7, 2004.

1. carbonseven

Apr 7, 2004
    I started playing the bass like 3 months ago, and i'm still trying to figure out the best way to mute the strings. When I strike the notes g string, there's alot of vibration on the lower strings.

How do you guys mute the strings? I especially have trouble muting the E string when I play in the G string. I get alot of humming from the E string when I play on the higher registers. Do you guys rest your right thumb on the E string, or do you guys have other means of muting?
  2. bassnewb

Apr 15, 2003
    I'm a newb too, but I do it by using the floating thumb technique. I rest my thumb on the string above the string I'm playing, and lean the upper parts of my thumb across all the lower note strings.
  3. Try plucking one note in quarter notes. If your're still getting a lot of ringing, it may have to do with your rest stroke technique. When one finger plucks the string, it should fall back on the string beloq it, and the other finger should simultaneously move up to the string that was just plucked, thus stopping the vibration of the string. If your hand is in the right position, this should take care of the ringing in all four strings. The floating thumb technique certaintly helps. Personally, I'll rest my thumb on the pickup, on nothing, on the E string, or the a string, but I almost never rest it on the D string.
  4. tkarter

Jan 1, 2003
    Try getting a piece of foam rubber and laying it under the strings just in front of the bridge. Just touching so it kills the other strings. Not too much and you will get the best sound you ever had.

5. panazza

Nov 23, 2003
    use your ring and pinky. when you play on D and G strings, those two fingers mute A and E by resting on them
  6. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Baaad idea.