Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bassist Here Needs Some Help

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Son of Spam, Jun 30, 2001.

1. Well, I've been playing bass for about 2 months now, yes, only two months. And well, basically, I need to have some tips on playing and getting better.

To begin with, I decided to learn the major scales (not in major, but the major scales.) After about 3 days of doing that, I decided it wasn't helping at all. I picked up a book on bass, but after doing the same thing over and over again I realized I truly wasn't learning anything. I am pretty quick with my fingerpicking style, or my friends who play bass/guitar tell me so.

So then I started having my friends who play bass come over, and they've been teaching me some songs. I learned how to slide with a Black Sabbath song, learned power chords with a Green Day song, and learned hammering with a Limp Bizkit song (even though I hate Limp Bizkit.) A friend of mine who him and his dad have been playing bass (and guitar) for over 10 years showed me some stuff, and they say I've been coming along quite quickly.

But basically to get down to it, is there any exercises I should practice every day? Maybe a song that I should play over and over again? I'm just basically looking for some help.

2. I think that Stevie Wonders song I wish gives you a bit of the endurance you need.

3. GroovBs

GroovBs

Jun 30, 2001
    Alabaster,AL
    Hey Buddy-Boy,
    When I started playing it was a pretty easy thing.....because of my teacher.Don't learn songs until you're playing well.Learn to play bass.Once you do that you can learn anything.Find a good teacher.....and not a guitar player that knows how to play bass.I did that and got" messed over".Find a bass player teacher.You can find one at www.modulusguitars.com.Go to links and find a teacher.

4. Pacman