New Bassist Looking for Tips on Jamming with Others

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by still laughing, Jul 11, 2005.

1. still laughing

still laughing

Jul 11, 2005
    Hi, I recently bought my first bass (Yesterday, as a matter of fact). I bought a five string Ibanez. I've been playing guitar for about two years and bass for about one day and two hours. Due to my guitar experience, I am fairly good at playing fingerstyle on the bass already.

I'd like to begin jamming with two friends of mine, one who would be playing electric guitar and the other who would be spinning and scratching on turntables. The problem that I run into is I've never really played with other people before; I'm mostly experienced in playing songs by myself.

Now, from what I understand the bass generally plays in rhythm with the drums and plays in the arpeggios of the root of the chord the guitar is playing. Is this correct? Also, what do I do if the guitar is not playing chords; if he is playing a lead melody?

I plan on trying to jam with them this weekend if possible and would greatly appreciate any help that I can get about actually playing with others or on what I should focus on when practicing up until the jam session. Thanks in advance and I look forward to playing bass and participating in this forum.
  2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn
    Creator of: iGigBook for Android/iOS
    Listen to what other bassist's are playing on tunes that are in the genre of what you're going to be playing. Think about what the bassist was playing while you were playing guitar. Listen, listen, listen... Did I mention listen?
  3. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    Don't lose the drummer or don't let the drummer lose you.

This is pretty obvious but I've seen quite a few ppl who cannot play and keep time at the same... uhh.. time.

The guitar scales you learned will help you out with your basslines.