1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New bassist- what to do?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cstar, Jan 22, 2012.

1. cstar

cstar

Dec 21, 2011
    Hello TB's!

My name is Chris and I am new to the bass (been playing ~ 5 months).

I would really like to improve my playing- and I realize this is a very open-ended question- but would you suggest I do/play in order to take things to the next level?

Some info that may be helpful: I know a little music theory but not a whole lot. I can play scales (and I guess my playing technique isn't too bad overall), I can play a few songs, I am taking lessons, and I listen to practically every kind of music. Reggae, Metal, Motown... it's all good and fine by me. I practice as much as I can (I probably average 2 hours of practice a day).

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

2. I live by this.

Bass Patterns based upon the Major Scale box.

Major Scale Box.

G|---2---|-------|---3---|---4---| 1st string
    D|---6---|-------|---7---|---8---|
    A|---3---|---4---|-------|---5---|
    E|-------|---R---|-------|---2---|4th string

Basic Chords
    Major Triad = R-3-5
    Minor Triad = R-b3-5
    Diminished Chord = R-b3-b5

7th Chords
    Maj7 = R-3-5-7
    Minor 7 = R-b3-5-b7
    Dominant 7 = R-3-5-b7
    ½ diminished = R-b3-b5-b7
    Full diminished = R-b3-b5-bb7

Scales
    Major Scale = R-2-3-4-5-6-7
    Major Pentatonic = R-2-3-5-6 leave out the 4 & 7
    Natural Minor Scale = R-2-b3-4-5-b6-b7 Major scale with the 3, 6 & 7 flatted
    Minor Pentatonic = R-b3-4-5-b7 Natural minor scale with out the 2 & 6.
    Blues = R-b3-4-b5-5-b7 Minor pentatonic with the b5 blue note added.
    Harmonic Minor Scale = R-2-b3-4-5-b6-7 Natural minor scale with a natural 7.
    Melodic Minor Scale = R-2-b3-4-5-6-7 Major scale with a b3.