New Bassist

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by millencollin24, Feb 7, 2001.

1. millencollin24

Feb 7, 2001
    i started playing the bass, i was woundering if u guys had any adivce and tips for me. MILLENCOLIN RULES!!!!
  2. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000

Welcome to TB, BTW. :)
  3. NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE
    Take lessons, practice, learn scales/theory, practice, play with a band, practice ...
    and you might not need 10 years to play, as I did ;)
  4. frederic b. hodshon

frederic b. hodshon Supporting Member

May 10, 2000
    Lake Forest, CA
  5. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

1. Buy a metronome and practice with it. Timing is one of your principle responsibilities as a bass player.

2. Learn to read standard notation. I've never heard anyone say they were sorry they learned to read notation, but I've often heard musicians say they regretted not being able to "read".

3. Try to get in a band. As you are a beginner, join other beginners. You can all grow together. Nothing will motivate you to learn better than being in a band and having to be able to carry your part.

4. Check out sites like, talkbass...lessons,, bass and Bass Player magazine, and for on line lessons.

5. Whenever you listen to music, regardless of the style, try to figure out what the bass is doing. Sing or hum along with the bass.

6. Have fun.

jason oldsted
  6. It's always good to have a new bass player in the world. In my limited experience I would definately say to:

1. Get a teacher
    2. Practice a lot, get a good feel for your bass
    3. Lean the scales, basic notation, etc.
    4. Practice some more
    5. Play with some friends, it's fun and good experience
    6. Practice some more
    7. Have a great time