New bassist

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by adam915, Jun 11, 2001.

1. adam915

Jun 11, 2001
    I am fifteen years old and I want to start playing bass guitar. I am willing to spend 400-500 dollars. What type of guitar should i get?
  2. actinglikeafreak

actinglikeafreak Guest

Apr 24, 2000
    Puerto Rico
    Squiers are very good and affordable, theyre from Fender but less costly but still theyre pretty good, Jazz or Presicion? Thats your decision
  3. Archelenon

Archelenon Guest

Apr 30, 2001
    Martin, TN
    I am 14, and I just started playing... I like the Edge 1 J (Jazz pickups) as a first guitar... Edge is made by Dean. Check out their website:
  4. I have been playing bass for 30 years,You can't go wrong with an american Fender(J or P) If you buy a used one in good shape for $400.00 or less you can always get your money out of it on a resale,some vintage Fenders are worth thousand if you hang on to them,have one of your friends that plays music help you when you go look,also,you can hunt swap shops,garage sales ect... People sometime don't realize what instruments are worth(I bought a 1960 Fender Percision from an ad in the pennysaver for $200.00) This bass is worth approx.$3000.00.Best of luck to you.Dennis @LBassman75@AOL
  5. adam915

Jun 11, 2001
    whats the difference between jazz and precision?
  6. Hi guys, and welcome both to Talk Bass.

The question of a first bass is a tricky one. In any case $500 is really quite a lot of money to spend: I think you really need to be absolutely sure that the bass is what you want to play as $500 is an awful lot to loose if you change your mind...... And don't forget you'll need an amp. Does the $500 include the amp?