1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New build finished, 32" scale 6-string

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Woodpecker, Jul 18, 2008.

1. bmaxd

bmaxd

Sep 23, 2005
    Saint Louis
  2. contakt321

contakt321

Jul 31, 2006
    New York, NY
    Wow, great overview on your build. Looks great! Interesting wood choices too. Are you liking the Ash fretboard? (never seen that before).

3. Jarno

Jarno

Jan 27, 2005
    Looks great! I really like the fivestring fretless as well, how do you like those EMG DC's? I built a four string fretless once and I wasn't too crazy about them, too thick for my taste.

The comparison tables with the domestic woods are also quite useful (as a mechanical engineer I can certainly dig this approach).
    You mention "fruittrees" in there, I am thinking of using pearwood for a fingerboard, did you see little difference in the wood of the different fruittrees (apple, pear)?

Best regards,

Jarno.

4. In my opinion the EMG DCs fits a fretless quite well, their full and rich in sound, just the way I like it. Once upon a time I had the same pups on a Ibanez SR 5-string and compared to the original passive pups these DCs really was something else. I'm glad I removed them and installed the original pups on the bass before I sold it.

Pearwood sound good, if you've got some pieces long and wide enough for a 5-string fretboard, can I buy some? :hyper:
    I don't believe there is some difference in pear and apple, the only thing that makes a difference is in what kind of soil and environment the tree has grown in. Apple and pear in hard to find, I got some small short pieces, but not nearly enough in length for a fretboard for bass (nor guitar).

Judging by your name you probably know/is Finnish, right?
    Here's some useful websites (in Finnish) if you lack some info on different domestic wood species: