new @ buying a Bass guitar

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by behling, Mar 12, 2006.

1. behling

Mar 12, 2006

i have no experience at choosing a bass guitar. Need all the help i can get such as stuff to look out for. etc
  2. if your completely new to it try going for a squire. cheap, and with a suprisingly good sound.
  3. Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Well, if you're completely new, I might suggest looking at SX - I have one that I just threw on ebay last night, and am disappointed to sell it...solid instruments, decent weight (well, except for the ash ones; those are HEAVY) and pretty good pickups. The hardware on it was also pretty solid.

Just fair warning, I'd stay away from Rogue, and I'd take the SX over Squire any day....

But look for what you like. Basically tonal sound and string spacing and maybe the top wood (if any). Playing something you like looking at doesn't hurt at all; it probably would give you a little more reason to learn instead of playing something you hate the looks of. Thats probably my best suggestion.
  4. AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    Classic questions:
    What's your budget?
    Have you played before, even guitar?
    What kind of music do you want to play?
    Do you want something to just check it out, or do you want something you won't want to upgrade as soon as you get the feel?
    Is your next question gonna be what kind of amp?
  5. anonymous278347457

anonymous278347457 Guest

Feb 12, 2005

somebody should make one of those personality quiz type things, but instead of personality it could be "what bass are you?"
  6. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    That should definitely exist. And it should be a sticky here on TB.