1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New cabinet for rehearsal

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by HoosierCuse, Jan 26, 2012.

1. HoosierCuse

HoosierCuse

Jan 26, 2012
    Forgive me if this is too basic, but I'm relatively new to the electric bass. I have a GK Backline 600 that powers a GK 410 cab. I'd like to get something more portable to take to rehearsal and smaller gigs.

Should I get a 115 that I could also pair with the 410 for larger outdoor gigs? Should I stick with GK since the other is a GK? Or should I just get a small combo amp?

I don't want to spend too much, but I want something that's going to sound great.

2. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    The 15 and 410 aren't the best idea to run together trying to get loud. You could just pick pretty much any small cab to carry back and forth and use the 410 for big gigs.

3. HoosierCuse

HoosierCuse

Jan 26, 2012
    Sounds good. Are there any smaller cabs you'd recommend with the Backline 600?

4. will33

will33

May 22, 2006
    austin,tx
    Define "spend too much".

For rehearsal, most any 112 or 210 should be loud enough. What you think sounds good only your ear can tell you. No need for the brand to match your amp, can try most any other brand bass cab...or a gk if that's what you like.

5. seedokebass

seedokebass

Mar 21, 2009
    Minnesota
    Are your rehearsals very loud? What kind band/music? If it's quieter acoustic stuff (no drums/quiet drums), a 1x12 would probably do.

Personally, I would get a 2x10. If your 4x10 is 8 ohms, you could run an 8 ohm 2x10 along with the 4x10 if you needed more volume in the future.

6. HoosierCuse

HoosierCuse

Jan 26, 2012
    The rehearsals can be loud (drums, 2 guitars and a sax). The 4x10 is 8 ohms.

7. TinIndian

TinIndian Supporting Member

Jan 25, 2011