1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New Carvin BRX15.3 3 Way Bass Cab

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by madbassplaya, Jul 24, 2012.

1. madbassplaya

madbassplaya

Dec 28, 2007
  2. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    At 72 pounds, I lost interest.

3. Tunaman

Tunaman

Dec 26, 2004
    Boston
    Way too heavy, the whole point of these 3 way cabs was to be super efficient to take more power in a smaller package.

4. It is no fEarful...............

However, for the same money I would go with the Avatar TB153 which at least uses premium speakers instead of the "what brand is Carvin using today" speakers.

5. madbassplaya

madbassplaya

Dec 28, 2007
    Yea, I've never used a 3 way cab before. I wasn't sure of the purpose of one honestly, but I agree. It is too heavy for me. :meh:

6. A properly implementable 3 way cab is IMHO the best option out there. I bought my first fEARful with out ever hearing one. Liked it so much that I got a second, and then with out any hesitation sold off all my other cabs. The tone may not be for anyone right off the bat, but given some time to re-think EQ set up I think these cabs cover any tone.

7. The fearful concept was originally based off of the carvin lsx 1503 pa cab. I'm sure it would/ could be a great cab. It really all depends what you are looking for in one.

8. And for $480 that's not a bad deal. Their BRX line cabs are built to pro spec and are absolutely solid. Probably way better quality than your avatar.

9. depends on the drivers and cross over. Premium LF drivers are going to sound better than a generic 15 stuffed in to a cab.

10. Their drivers are actually pretty damned good. However, agreed!!