1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Fender 1964 vintage spec jazz bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fibonacci1618, Oct 2, 2013.

1. fibonacci1618

fibonacci1618

Sep 23, 2013
    Hello everyone,

I'm newbie here and a guitar player and I started playing bass last year with a $500 Fender clone a guy makes and sells on ebay so I could make my own backing tracks but then I really started to enjoy bass. So I thought I'd upgrade to a real Fender and I just got the LPB one used but in mint condition off of ebay too.

However I noticed that compared to the G string, the other 3 strings sound rather muted while the G "rings like a bell" and the sustain is like 3-4 times longer on G. The E-A-D strings on my clone also sustain much longer too. The string height is about the same as the clone. Does anyone know what is could be?

Could it be the fender strings? The strings I have on the clone are really old and tarnished too but still sustain longer. I guess I could learn about bass set up. I don't really want to start replacing the bridge or parts etc.

Thanks guy and gals...

2. bridgecover still on? There is a foam mute underneath it, that dampens the strings. And I guess the '64 comes with flatwounds, which sound thuddy and "less lively" than the rounds that are probably on your clone

3. NWB

NWB

Apr 30, 2008
    Kirkland, WA
    Could be pickup height.

4. StuartV

StuartV Finally figuring out what I really like Supporting Member

Jul 27, 2006
    Manassas, VA
    What Mr.Fingers said. Make sure there's no foam mutes damping the strings. If not, then put on some new strings and see what happens.

5. fibonacci1618

fibonacci1618

Sep 23, 2013