1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New Fender Standard Telecaster Precision - hard to play

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tothemax, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Just received a Fender Standard Telecaster Precision Limited edition (MIM) from MF yesterday. I'm transitioning from my short scale Franken-bass I've been playing for about 5 years. I've always loved the look of the 50's P-Bass (Tele body and headstock - B.Blonde). Played about a half hour last night and fingers are sore, just out of the box - no real setup yet. Setup was not bad, frets clean, I was really surprised how nice it was. Like I said I love the look, but after my broke in SS there is a bit of transition. I wasn't expecting the size of the C-shape neck, was fatter than expected - but silky smooth finish. I'm going to take it to practice tonight and switch off between basses. I'm really torn, I love the look but don't want to keep a bass that is hard to play. Any suggestions to improve the feel? I'm thinking maybe going to lighter strings while I'm getting used to it (with a setup). The heavier string tension was a change as well (dang SS).
    I'm also seeing another trade-off with the Tele style body, no belly cut and a harder edge by my wrist. Just trying to decide if it's something that I'll grow into or maybe I should send it back and keep shopping. I'm thinking I should have one full scale bass. I realize its a personal choice, but wondering if anyone has had a similar experience. Unfortunately only MF had this special so there was no way to try it first.

saabfender likes this.
  2. BillMason

BillMason Supporting Member

Mar 6, 2007
    I'd love to see pictures!!

I think I would have a tough time with the non-contoured body as well, I would want a '54-'57 style body.

3. BillMason

BillMason Supporting Member

Mar 6, 2007